top of page

Kool-Aid for Houston Success

The Kool-Aid for Houston stand was a success! I wanted to do something to help the people in Houston and the surrounded areas who lost their things because of Hurricane Harvey. Click here to see the final video that includes the payments to both or

On Labor Day, I decided to a Kool-Aid for Houston stand in my neighborhood. I posted it on Facebook, Nextdoor, my blog, and my mom sent texts to people she knows to advertise it. 100% of the money raised went to the JJ Watt Victims of Hurricane Harvey Houston Flood Relief Fund and Crossroads Christian Church Hurricane Harvey Relief fund. Click here to see the Facebook Live video that includes me making the payments to both organizations.

My brother drove me to the store to get what we needed. My mom and dad paid for all the supplies. I mixed up the Kool-Aid and my brother was the taster.

We found the perfect spot, good shade, good traffic, but safe. Friends, church members, and strangers donated.

The cool thing was so many people had encouraging things to say to me. A guy named Kevin prayed for my family and me. He's about to start school at Christ for the Nations.

Another man told me God has big things in store for me. He said I was out here doing this when most kids are playing and having fun at the pool on a day off. He said what I was doing was amazing and challenged me to do something bigger with Kool-Aid for Houston. He said I could do more. My mom and I couldn't stop brainstorming trying to figure out what else I could do.

Another lady, Terrie Chantel, interviewed me. She kept telling me to always go after my dreams. She posted our interview on her Facebook page!

Friends helped us set up, hung out with us, and helped clean up.

My mom was ready to stop after we worked for about an hour, but I told her, "Quitters don't maximize profits." Each time she tried to talk me into shutting down and I had to remind her about the rush that comes after each slow time.

I counted the money live on Facebook because my mom taught me about philanthrophic accountability. If I'm asking people to donate, she said I need to be transparent so people can see their money is going where I said it would.

We went to the bank and deposited the money. While we were in line, two men heard my mom and me talking about what I had done. They also had lots of encouraging words to say!

I somehow was quite a bit off in my count and got a pleasant surprise. I thought we raised $174.71 which would be $87.35 for both organizations. Turns out, it was actually $211.71!!! Making it $105.86 for each organization. I did a Facebook Live video so that people could see me actually donating the money to both organizations. That philanthropic accountability my mom taught me about.

I just want to say thank you to everybody for supporting Kool-Aid for Houston. Thank you a lot.

I'm glad I could do something to help. I wish this didn't happen to all those people. I just hope this helps a little bit. And now there's Hurricane Katia, Jose and Irma, and lots of fires.

I'm praying for all these people, that God will keep them safe.

Back to the challenge the man at the Kool-Aid stand gave me:

I challenge Kool-Aid to donate a dollar for every product the company sells to the hurricane relief.

Surprisingly, I'm still getting donations! We are trying to figure out what my next steps are with Kool-Aid for Houston, I'll let you know as soon as we get it all figured out. Trying to decide if I need to get help to learn how to set up some kind of foundation myself, or just keep the money going to the organizations I've already chosen. I know the JJ Watt fund closes this Friday. What do you think I should do (click and let me know)?

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page