top of page

2nd Annual Christmas Buddy Adoption


Remember last year's Christmas Buddy Adoption? It was a single mom and her son, and the community stepped up in huge way to give this family a Christmas miracle (search Christmas Buddy in my blog to see it, but here are some pictures!).

This year, I've been trying to help Hurricane Harvey victims. My Kool-Aid for Houston stand raised over $200 (half went to the JJ Watt Foundation, half went to my church's hurricane relief fund - you can search my blog for that, too, but pics are below).

I wanted our Christmas Buddy to be a family affected by Harvey. We have found a family of 5 that lost everything and chose to start over right here in the Metroplex.

So who are they? A family of five - dad, mom, 13 and 14 year old boys and a four year old daughter. Mom and Dad are getting their family settled into an apartment and the mom is looking for a job along the bus route near their home. The dad is unable to work due to a medical condition and they don't have a car. The only check they have coming in is just enough to cover rent.

They've had some furniture donated, but still need a queen-sized mattress so the mom and dad can stop sleeping on the couch.

If my wildest dreams could come true for this family, it would be that someone would donate a car, a mattress, gift cards for dinner and movies, and add to their pantry. Every teenaged boy loves Play Station and X-box. I guess little girls like dolls and doll houses.

I also learned that they don't have a basic electronic device in the house like a laptop/computer/Ipad. I think every house needs one of those. Oh! They don't have a television either, not even one.

Ok, so who's in? Let's get busy making Christmas magical for this family.

I'm working on drop off nights, but in the meantime, if you're donating something, let me know and we can work out details securing the items.

I think I want to make Monday, December 11th the cut off so we can have time to give the parents the gifts. I don't know where we will have the big reveal to the mom and dad yet - if you can offer a facility - we'll take that, too! If that happens, we'd love to get them chauffeured there...hey, just dreaming big for this family, plus remember, they don't have a car!

Thank you for reading this, I hope you can help! Any questions, please call my mom, Traci, 214-886-3499.

If you would like to donate, but don't want to list it on the Sign Up (by the way, your name and info won't show publicly on the Sign Up), please email me by clicking right here!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page